The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre
The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre

The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre has been receiving great feedback from our patients. Below are just some of the recent responses we’ve received. If you would like to share your experience of our health centre please complete our Feedback form. We’d love to hear from you.

You can provide your feedback quickly and easily through our Feedback form.

Feedback

I've used the walk in centre a few times and although the wait is considerably long sometimes, I know that at the end of it I'll be seen my somebody who understands exactly what they're talking about. The reception staff are polite and respectful every time. I visited the centre recently and didn't have to wait too long before I was triaged which put my mind and heart to rest and made me understand that I was okay to wait a little while longer. The HCA who triaged me, did so thoroughly and asked me to wait for a little while longer before the nurse saw me. The nurse was lovely and very warm and welcoming. The nurse took the time to listen to me and understand everything I was saying before responding. I've always had good experiences at this place. I'm actually very grateful to the surgery and the clinicians as they've never disappointing me.
A previous patient at The Hill General Practice, December, 2016
I called the practice to try and find help for an issue that I had with some medication I urgently required and which I had run out of. I was very pleasantly greeted by one of the receptionists who was extremely professional and had superb customer service skills, a skills which seems to be quite rare but they were Fantastic. This receptionist was able to contact the right individual whilst I was on the phone and provided me with the information I needed to resolve my medication issue, there was no hesitation and they clearly knew who to contact and within minutes my issue was resolved. They took the time to listen my issue and engage the right people being very articulate in the way they advised me and the right steps to take and not hesitating, proving they are very confident and able to read into what the customer (patient) is requesting. I did not have to repeat or clarify myself in anyway. In simple words this receptionist displayed a very professional character, and an ability to engage with the patient and with their help my issues was soon resolved. Even though my issue was now resolved the receptionist called me back to advise me of an alterative resolution which would have been even quicker, they did not have to call me back but they did wow! Their professional attitude and patient care skills prevailed. This level of service is what makes all the difference and is a rarity! If I had a practice or a business I would certainly employ them! This receptionist is an absolute credit to the practice, Well Done!
Dilip, October, 2016
They have new staff who were very kind and helpful today :)
A previous patient of The Hill General Practice, July, 2016
I went here yesterday as felt generally unwell and knew I had a uti. The nurse practitioner I saw was very thorough and through their expertise they told me I had sepsis and needed urgent hospital treatment. The nurse wanted to call a ambulance straight away but because of children at home I went home then went up to hospital and they were correct. Blood poisoning had set in but thankfully with a overnight stay n medication I was out of danger. I didn't get their name but thank you so much
Jo Jo, July, 2016
Went in on Saturday and got seen straight away. Nurse was good and caring.
A previous patient at The Hill General Practice, March, 2016

 

NHS Choices logo

Latest reviews from NHS Choices

I went here due to the fact solihull walk in is now closed (what a shame if this is all that's left!) I went with what is clearly a kidney infection...not feeling well at all and in alot of pain...couldn't get in to GP.. Paid to get a taxi there (my partners recently made redundant and I don't work so not something I would have done unless needed) to be told I couldn't be seen as list had been closed an hour previously due to "too many patients"...may I add there were about 4 people waiting and it was 6.40 and it doesn't close until 8pm! May I also add that I take a monitored medication which can affect your kidneys which I have to have regular blood tests for so a kidney infection could pose somewhat of a problem seen as toxic levels of said drug can kill you! I demanded to see a manager but kept getting "sorry madam but...." No stuffs given whatsoever! Just told me to ring 111 (who would have just given me an out of hours somewhere in Birmingham that I can't afford to get to because I'd just spent £20 on a round trip to this waste of space for no reason! Disgusting!
Anonymous, April 2017
My son was poorly so decided to take him to see the GP. Unable to get through on the phone as demand to get through is so high. Waited for ages only to be told that there is no appointments left due to a GP shortage! Asked if I could see a nurse instead and advised as we are registered we are unable o use the walk in. Reception advised that they only have a GP in the morning and nobody here after. Asked to speak to the manager who looked amused the entire time and not bothered of the well being of my son. Manager suggested I took my son to A&E which would not have been the relevant cause of action. No wonder the NHS struggles to cope. Private companies like care uk are taking advantage by compromising patient care to pocket the money themselves.
Anonymous, April 2017
The receptionist obviously do not care about patients , pull faces at them, don't answer to hi, and will certainly not apologise for making you wait for 35 mins because the doctor is running behind.i Wonder why they are still open after all these reviews have exposed the truth about them. And what is even more sarcastic is that the number on the reply to you review is send you straight back to the reception which is the source of the problem
Anonymous, February 2017
I have had a terrible experience with this GP Practice. I have tried to understand and share feedback to ensure they are aware of where changes need to be made since last summer however the Practice Manager refuses to help. There is barely any GP on site and when there is some of the GP's are reluctant to help you. That is if you are lucky enough to get an appointment. Due to the lack of GP's working, it is near impossible getting an appointment. If you try to use the walk in then they refuse to let you use it because you are registered with them. The Practice Manager would rather see you suffer in pain then let you use the walk in centre. I was told to go to A&E instead with a problem which was not relevant to A&E and then we wonder why the NHS is struggling. No patient care at this corporate organisation. They are more interested in registering you and seeing you for the money than any duty of care. My son has had pains for many months and never diagnosed or given test results. Not even any reassurance that nothing is wrong. Each time I chase it up, I am told they will get in touch with me. Practice Manager needs to start putting patients first and allowing the doctors to treat patients.
Sobia Hussain, January 2017
I was booked with nurse for new patient health check, however when I arrived at desk they told me the nurse had gone due to emergency which can't be helped. How ever when I asked what time they had left I was informed 1pm, my appointment was 2.5later and I was not informed by practice. I asked them why did they not call and answer was because they was busy...this is not acceptable. I'm very disappointed I will be taking my complaint further and contacting CQC.
Anonymous, February 2017
I am very ill my wife ill never have appointment the reception is just awful the referral is 0 even they notbpickingbthevohone and when I went to make appointment the reception told me to go back and call it's none sense I wish I would never join such surgery
Abdul, January 2017
Have had a number of occassions where Dr not only has been rude in telling me that my time for my aappointment is up even though it hasnt been the full 10 minutes. They have also lied over the phone when i called in requesting a home visit for my father who is home bound with dementia over the age of 80. Failed to explain why they would not do a home visit and said it will be their decision to make. My father has been hospitalised for over 5 days. One can only understand my frustration growing when i have another telephone consultant which is 20 mins late because they have been delayed. When questioned they answer in a very haste manner. The communication between clinical staff and receptionists is appauling. The receptionist told me i can get an early appointment after the telephone consultation only the Dr denied that. Again when questioned they told me i am being rude. I have a right to ask for such inconsistent advice given. Then they cut off the line.
Anonymous, February 2017
Last all week been calling to get appointment with dr after 15-20 minutes of hold on call sorry you can't get appointment to see dr today again date 07/02/2017 after 22 minutes hold on the phone answer was sorry you can't see dr such a waste of time and money waisted on the phone bill.on top of that I can't use the walk in service because I am registered with surgery went in numerous times but I been refused to see dr know after today I have decided to leave this surgery and go somewhere else.
Khalid Hussain, February 2017
The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre replied on February 2017
Dear Patient, Apologies that you have not had a great experience with us. We are committed to ensure we get our service right for our patients and I am sorry to hear that you do not feel this has been the case. Please could you contact me on 0345 111 1310 to discuss further Kind regards, Zoya Deputy Practice Manager
This organisation is a contradiction in terms. A National Health Service branch causing mental distress. Organised to the likeness of bacteria, this germ should be dealt with, firstly, by changing management, and secondly, the majority of the people sat at the throne of reception. They have utterly no respect for the visitors. None. I was sat with my son of twelve years in reception, after informing them of his ubrupt urinal blood problem. They gave a waiting time of around two hours. We waited. My son who was feeling hungry, asked me if he could go to a local shop to buy something to eat. I told him I will have to stay here, incase your name is called out. He left to grab a bite to eat. Happenstance had it, his name was called as he was out, in a shop a distance two minutes away. I told the receptionist I will go and get him, and be back in a minute. I am not sure education had rendered the definition of a figure of speech to them, but anyhow, upon returning within 5 minutes, they said your name was called out three times and you did not answer, so sorry. The people in this preisthood like setup, value all others as commoners. Absolute disregard for peoples time. I left, called my husband, who demanded we return and know the precise reasons for such disregard. They delegated blame to the nurse. On asking to speak to the nurse, they denied permission, pressing their valuable time as the reason. We left for heartlands hospital. I plea to anyone who values their time and sanity to find better, for it's not your health, but something far less noble at the root of their motivation. Kind Regards.
Anonymous, January 2017
The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre replied on January 2017
Dear Patient, Apologies that you have not had a great experience with us. We are committed to ensure we get our service right for our patients and I am sorry to hear that you do not feel this has been the case. Please could you contact me on 0345 111 1310 to discuss further Kind regards, Zoya Deputy Practice Manager
Reception staff were OK. Professional in the way they need to be in such a busy walk in centre. I assume it was busy as it was 2.5 hrs before my 18 month old child was seen despite both waiting areas being empty and quiet - we were told it could be up to two hours before we were seen. Perhaps there were other more pressing cases than ours, although it didn't appear to be the case. We were seen eventually and we were happy with the consultation. However a simple 1 minute screening would have saved us a total of 3 hrs. The actual waiting areas are filthy. The frog bin, no doubt designed for the children was the dirtiest thing I've seen in a health environment. the floor was strewn with used tissues and wipes. The chairs were marginally cleaner but not by much. We were there 3 hours and did not once see a cleaner.
Mjemson, January 2017
The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre replied on January 2017
Dear Patient, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you have not had a great experience. I am keen to get specific feedback from you so I can apply learning and improve the patient experience for both yourself and other patients. I would be grateful if you could kindly call me on 0345 333 1310 to discuss further. Kind Regards Zoya, Deputy Practice Manager
After ringing 4 times and being cut off as no answer after 20 minutes I finally get through to only be told no appointments until 5 days later! I tell the receptionist that it is for a child under 5 who has a fever for 5 days. The receptionist tells me call 111 and they can help!! We have been patients here for years and have found this surgery to have gone down hill as their service to meet patient needs are never met! As we are a patient here we are not allowed to use the walk in clinic and will have to go to lady wood or use the children's hospital!! I shall be looking to move surgeries as will be looking for a surgery that looks after it's patients and not tell them to go else where.
Razk, January 2017
The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre replied on January 2017
Dear Patient, I am sorry to hear that you have had bad experiences at The Hill GP & UCC. Please contact me on 0345 111 1310 to discuss further. Kind Regards Zoya Deputy Practice Manager
I find it astonishing and appalling that this facility refused to see my husband, he attended more than two hours before closing and will probably now end up in a&e, which is what we were trying to avoid. Urgent care centre, really? Make sure you're geared up or don't bother. And make sure your smug, disinterested reception staff get some training. Avoid.
Mrs N, January 2017
The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre replied on January 2017
Dear Patient, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have not had a great experience. Could you please get in touch with me so I can look into the matter and resolve for you. I would also like to take any learning to ensure this does not occur again with any patients. Please call on 0345 111 1310 Kind Regards Zoya Khan Deputy Practice Manager
Made a telephone call whilst visiting Birmingham on new years day when my father in law (also visiting) became ill and was having difficulty breathing. We were advised to come down straight away. He was seen immediately on arrival, thoroughly examined and drugs prescribed. Everyone involved from start to finish was excellent. Thank you so much for making what could have been an unpleasant evening A&E much easier by us visiting you instead - all sorted and back home just 45 minutes.
Anonymous, January 2017
The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre replied on January 2017
Dear Patient Thank you so much for your kind feedback, this encourages us during difficult times. We hope we can continue to support you with your health. Kind regards, Zoya Khan, Deputy Practice Manager
This surgery has the most incompetent reception and administration staff I have every encountered. Lost prescriptions, deadlines not met, difficult to get through to a receptionist, rules changed frequently and no sign of adequate customer service training.
Anonymous, January 2017
The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre replied on January 2017
Dear Patient, I am sorry to hear that you have not had a great experience. Please can you contact me on 0345 111 1310 to discuss further. Kind regards, Zoya Deputy Practice Manager
I had reason to use the above service and i found the Receptionist to be alright. Patients were just,walking,in,and,the room filling up but noone was called.. When,I,was called i,was led to,a room and asked about my symptoms - not introduced to who i was seeing and was seen in haste. Before I could say anything the prescription was printed - i wasn't told or asked and when I requested a change that person accused me of not telling them first. How could i when,i wasn't given a chance. The place looked very unprofessional and it has worn out seats in the waiting area. Wake up and make it a more friendly place where patients can be cheered up.
Anonymous, December 2016
The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre replied on December 2016
Dear Patient, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have not had a great experience. Could you please get in touch with me so I can look into the matter and resolve for you. I would also like to take any learning to ensure this does not occur again with any patients. Please call on 0345 111 1310 Kind Regards Sobia Hussain
I came in to use the walk in service and was really impressed with all the staff and how they treated me. After reading the reviews i was a bit weary but honestly cant see what the fuss is about - the staff were lovely, i was seen in a timely manner, the Nurse was lovely. Would definately be using the walk in again.
Reena, December 2016
The Hill General Practice and Urgent Care Centre replied on December 2016
Dear Patient Thank you so much for your kind feedback, this encourages us during difficult times. We hope we can continue to support you with your health. Kind regards, Sobia Hussain Service Manager

Our news

New book to be released for one of our own registrars

New book to be released for one of our own registrars

May 2 2017

Congratulations to Dr Afiniki Akanet, one of our Warwickshire registrars, on her upcoming book release, Life Without Coffee: Choosing happiness over stress.

Read more >

Dealing with arthritis

Dealing with arthritis

April 3 2017

One in six of us experiences joint pain every day. It can make day-to-day tasks, like brushing your teeth, making a cup of tea or getting a good night’s sleep really difficult. 

Read more >

Your guide to surviving spring

Your guide to surviving spring

March 15 2017

We’ve created a little guide to help you survive spring with things to do, tips for hay fever sufferers, and new recipes to try that will make the most of the season’s new tastes.

Read more >

Learn more about ovarian and prostate cancer

Learn more about ovarian and prostate cancer

March 7 2017

Awareness of cancer, thanks in no small part to extensive media coverage, has never been higher. During the month of March, awareness campaigns are running all over - specifically aimed at two types of cancer: ovarian and prostate. So let’s find out some more about them:

Read more >